University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Annual Conference Correspondence, May 18 - October 20, 1876 (Digital Surrogates)

File of the ALA Librarians' Conference, including correspondence (May 18 - October 20, 1876), letters of invitation, individual responses, conference discussion suggestions, program requests and hotel arrangements. Corespondents include Melvil Dewey, William E. Foster, Daniel W. Fine, R.B. Anderson, Charles Cutter, Christopher Little, Luther Holmes, George S. Williams, Theodore M. Osborne, Edward M. Hall, Ezra Abbot, the Franklin Hotel manager (Philadelphia), Oran W. Morris, Louise W. Roose, Otis Robinson, Charles Evans, M.B. Coolidge, Thomas Karney, M.A. Bean, W. Carrington Button, William Dunn Macray (Bodleian Library, Oxford), F. Saunders, James Reed, Edward A. Noyes and Pat Rufas. The series includes a description of the holdings of the library of the Essex Institute, Salem, Massachusetts (now Peabody Essex Museum) and shorthand notations by Melvil Dewey on the respondents' letters.

This collection is managed by the American Library Association Archives and does not feature precise descriptive information for each item. Discover its contents by browsing the folders and files. For more information, contact an archivist at