University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

James I. Wyer Autograph Collection (Digital Surrogates)

Autograph collection of James I. Wyer (1869-1955), president of ALA (1910-11), contains letters written by librarians to Wyer or other librarians, includes publications, attendance and speeches at conferences, library activities, finances, the Lake Placid Club, ALA dues and committee activities and Wyer's appointment and work at the New York State Library, and correspondence with John C. Dana, Melvil Dewey, Charles Evans, Herbert Putnam, Ernest C. Richardson, George B. Utley, George P. Winship, and Justin Winsor.

This collection is managed by the American Library Association Archives and does not feature precise descriptive information for each item. Discover its contents by browsing the folders and files. For more information, contact an archivist at